24 February, 2013 - 21:05

Swansea crowned Capital One Cup champions

Swansea crowned Capital One Cup champions

Welsh side Swansea City crushed the Bradford dreams of becoming the first ever fourth-tier team to win the major trophy, by thrashing them 5-0.

Nathan Dyer got Swansea City off a flying start by scoring off a rebound in the 16th minute of the game. Michu doubled Swansea’s lead in the 40 minute of the game, making Bradford’s task almost unachievable, as they hardly touched the ball in the first-half. Dyer has netted his second of the game with a simple finish into the left corner, after exchanging passes with Routledge in the 47th minute. At that stage things looked even gloomier for Bradford, as Matt Duke earned himself an early bath for a professional foul in the 56th minute. The referee has shown him a straight red card and awarded the penalty. De Guzman has scored from the penalty spot in the 59th minute and then rounded off the scoring in the dying stages of the game.

All in all Swansea have completely outclassed their opponents. Both fans and pundits hailed Laudrup’s leadership as the major factor lying behind Swansea winning the first meaningful title in their long history.

Found a mistake? Highlight it with mouse and press CTRL + Enter. Thank you!

Author: Basil Naumov

Liked the article?



Please, register to take part in user rating.


30 May
23 April
2 April
6 March
13 February
31 January
11 January
11 November
19 October
9 October
17 August
8 August
5 July
3 July
14 June
22 March
26 October
25 October